Lets be honest I binged!

13 Jan

Okay I’m going to be honest with you, and with myself I ate sugar (intentionally) on Friday night. It was a small amount, I was happy with eating it and all was well. The next morning I binged, not totally crazy like before but a binge. I had some sugar on that binge. 😦 Not happy!

Now, I’m completely back on track but feel awful. I feel so fat. I know I have not lost weight since I stopped eating sugar , that’s okay with me. However, since the binge I feel gigantic, uncomfortable and all around terrible. It just makes me want to binge again. Why? All I want is to eat healthily, but I crave a binge. I think it’s self sabotage, my confidence wavers and I think I don’t deserve to be thin.

It’s just ridiculous, I will not spend my life on this binge, no binge, binge cycle. It’s over for me. I can truly feel the hold binges have on me becoming loser. I can stop my self mid-binge now which is great.

Toast marmite for break fast, chicken dinner for lunch with fruit after and a small dinner will do. I walked 6km in about an hour, so got some exercise in.

Ugh feeling fat. Want to feel slim. 😦

7 Responses to “Lets be honest I binged!”

  1. Di Heath January 13, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    Hi,
    I’ve just found your blog and have been reading through your entries. Have you any guidance on how to quit the sugar? If you haven’t already then I recommend you get yourself a copy of David Gillespie’s “The Sweet Poison Quit Plan” (I think he even has a UK version now too). It not only goes through why sugar (fructose) is bad for us but also has a plan to follow to make eliminating sugar a relatively painless process.
    Fructose messes with your food fuel gauge and as long as there is fructose going in (in the forms of natural sugars or otherwise) then your gauge is not going to tell you when to stop eating.
    Another crucial step when your quit sugar is to begin to eat full fat versions of foods. I know that probably goes against everything you have been told already in regards to weightloss, but if you eat full fat foods then you feel full (providing that food fuel gauge that I mentioned is now working due to lack of fructose). Anything that is labelled as low fat…..get rid of it!! They add extra sugar to make it taste like the real thing. I’m not sure what your food labelling is like in London, but here in Australia sugars are listed separately on labels which makes it very easy to find hidden sugars (and sugar is hidden in about 80% of food, so there is a lot to look for!!). If you have great food labelling, then start to look at the column that is headed “per 100g” and only at the sugars heading (don’t worry about anything else like fat, calories etc), if it is less than 3g of sugar per 100g then it is ok…..anything above 3g avoid it!! There is an exception to this rule which is milk and cream as they will say 4.7g sugar which is ok because it is lactose (not fructose). On that note, use fullcream milk, real butter (not margarine), cream, cheese etc.
    Fill your fridge with hardboiled eggs, slices of cheese already cut up, chopped up vegetables, cooked chicken, bacon, ham….things that are ready to go when you feel like you need a snack on something….or even a glass of milk. If you feel like a binge, try reaching for these things first or even some frozen berries with a great big splash of cream if you need a sweet hit or go and brush your teeth (it’s hard to eat things with a toothpaste flavour in your mouth!)
    Limit your fruit intake to two pieces only per day as these contain fructose as well….not as bad as obvious sugar of course, but just be aware of it. Also, ditch the fruit juice, it’s no good at all (it has as much sugar as a coke). Stick to water, milk, tea, coffee and even wine and beer (in moderation of course 😉 )
    Sorry this is so long, but I love that you are trying so hard to be healthy and I just wanted to try to help. I have a sugar free facebook page if you want to pop over there and ask questions any time (I also have some yummy recipes there too!) It’s at http://www.facebook.com/hungrytums or just search for Hungry Tums.
    I wish you all the very best for this journey, oh and don’t think of eliminating sugar as a diet….it is a healthy way of living, definately not a diet.
    All the very best, Di 🙂

    • sugarfreeme28 January 13, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      Thank you so much for taking the time to reply, I really appreciate it! It’s all great advice, advice which I will apply to my life for sure. ESP having food ready for craving or hungry moments. I’ll get my hands on that book alright, I watched a documentary/lecture called the truth about sugar that sparked my anti sugar campaign.

      Thanks again, I feel better for having your support. 😀 xx

      • Di Heath January 13, 2013 at 11:09 pm #

        You’re most welcome and as I said if you have any questions or after a bit of advice, feel free to post to my facebook page.

        YOU CAN DO THIS!!! I look forward to following your journey ❤ 🙂

  2. sweetcheekssugarfree January 13, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    Hey! Don’t worry I know the feeling. In the past I’ve bought a packet of chocolate biscuits with the intention of eating the whole packet, and even though I start to feel sick about half way through and stop enjoying the taste – I keep going until there are none left. Why?! Because it’s a Friday and I deserve it? It doesn’t make any sense! But these are the silly mind games we play, that hopefully will start to disappear once were through the ‘withdrawal’ period. When will that be again? 😉 x

    • sugarfreeme28 January 13, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      Sweetcheeks you’re doing so well, I’ve been absolutely pitiful this last weekend! Good on you and you’re hard work I’m back at it tomorrow for sure! Let me know when your cravings stop and I’ll know the end is near 😛 xx

  3. fairdom January 14, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    Hi, I am currently trying to do like you: eat healthy and exercise more. Even though it may feel like another set back, you are already doing great by starting yourself on this path. Many people don’t even realize that unhealthy food leads to weight gain. Keep it up and I’m rooting for you 🙂
    Oh, and thanks for following myblog!

    • sugarfreeme28 January 15, 2013 at 8:59 am #

      Ah yes it’s true. Back on track now, so delighted. Hope your journey is going well. Thanks for taking the time to reply. Xx

Leave a Reply

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

The 185 Weigh

Forging a new path of health and nutrition

Note from a Housewife

Food, Beauty and Luxury

southbeached

My personal revolution via the South Beach Diet

The Memoirs of a Yo-Yo Dieter

From Size 22 to 2 and back again! Oops.

sara sweetless

my journey into healthy living

Miss Kristen Renee

Treating life like the adventure it is!

Real Food Bryn

Epipen-Wielding Real Food Eating

the roving dilettante

liv·ing: adj. flowing freely, as water.

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Radiance Project NZ

beauty through balance & nature

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

Lisa goes Vegan

Vegan recipes, hotspots & more

I'm Not Hungry, I'm Addicted.

Overcoming My Sweet Addiction.

Confessions of a gym bunny

Salilla, jäällä, pururadalla, permannolla ja mitä nyt tuleekaan keksittyä.

voxifit

The Voice of Fitness Blog

